top of page

Openstudiojazz.com - My Review

Updated: Oct 29, 2022

Here's my honest review of Open Studio Network, "Jazz lessons from jazz legends."

I'll get straight to the point.

Would I recommend this to anyone wanting to learn jazz piano?


YES! There are great FOUNDATIONAL courses for beginners.

- "Jazz for beginners" and "Jazz piano jump start" are two very Excellent courses taught by Peter Martin and Adam Manness.


Would I recommend this to any jazz pianist who can already play at an intermediate - professional level? YES! There are FANTASTIC courses taught from Peter Martin, Geoffery Keezer and Adam Manness, Intermediate to advance level. Two of my personal favs are "Jazz Piano Method" Weekly upload/ lesson from Peter Martin, of how to approach a specific standard/ tune for solo Piano, and "Keez to Jazz Piano" Geoffery Keezer sharing specific ideas and approaches.


I started taking Peter's " Piano Jazz Method" course in 2017 December. Some friends asked me WHY? According to them, I was already good enough and the fact that I already give piano lessons made them more confused as to why I would even bother getting lessons. I mean, I already did my Jazz degree back at Massey University over a Century ago. Shouldn't that mean I don't need lessons? I know my many weaknesses. Solo Piano was one of them. I could bluff my way through certain situations etc, but once I saw Peter Martin play on Youtube, i was interested.

I wanted to play with that same confidence that he so effortlessly demonstrates.

With no discredit to the University I studied at, New Zealand isn't America.

Our Jazz culture isn't the American Jazz culture. Jazz is from America.


We have (limited) resources, and the occasional guest artist who might be touring through.

Some of my past lecturers are fantastic Jazz players. They could easily share the same stage as some of the great Jazz legends.

But no one is like Peter. Go check out his 2 minute jazz piano lessons on Youtube. you'll see what I mean. And those short clips are only the surface of what Peter shares in more detail via Open Studio Jazz.

So, it will be two years in Dec 2019 since joining Open Studio.

Has my Solo jazz piano playing got any better?

One thing I can say for certain, I definitely feel much more confident and more prepared now than I did before I signed up.

I was so happy to also see that Peter never holds back on anything.

Some musicians don't even want to let go of their "secrets", but Peter is always sharing new sounds and approaches.

His videos usually start with him playing the tune, followed with a quick introduction of the tune and it's origin. Then Peter would usually start teaching the melody, with the chords, and bass movement.

I like how he demonstrates variations, left hand voicings, and approaches to the tune.



The online course uses Sound Slice as a tool to play the pre recorded lessons. This means you can highlight any section of the lesson, and have it on repeat. You can also speed up or slow down those highlighted sections. Everything is very simple and easy to navigate. If you sign up for lessons, you also get to join a closed FB group. Peter, Adam and Geoffery are usually always on there interacting with us. If you have any requests for future lessons, or anything related to the course content etc That's an excellent place to post up in.


Staff are friendly and will always reply to you.

So far I've had only great positive feed back, from Open Studio members.


Open Studio isn't just another online course.

Sure you can find lessons from other amazing jazz players etc

But here, you are guaranteed satisfaction or your money back in 30 days.

Having Peter Martin teach you every week?

PRICELESS.

Added bonuses? All the other AMAZING teachers / Musicians!!!

Adam Manness

Geoffery Keezer

Christian McBride

Sean Jones

Dianne Reeves

Greg Hutchinson

Ulysses Owens Jr

Warren Wolf

Romero Lubambo

Peter Sprague

Steve Wilson

Helio Alves

Edu Ribeiro

BRS quartet



If you haven't checked out the website yet, I would HIGHLY recommend it.

Jazz lessons from Jazz Legends.

It's true.


Check them out!

Oh and when you do sign up, (it's only a matter of time...)

tell them I sent you :)


Elia Gaitau



1,359 views1 comment

© 2012 by Elia Gaitau .   All rights reserved.

  • w-facebook
  • w-tbird
  • w-youtube
bottom of page